UGC declared 20 University as “FAKE”. Degree awarded by them will be Invalid

Last Updated on August 6, 2023 by Brajesh

The University Grants Commission has listed 20 universities, declared as “FAKE” and degree awarded by them will be Invalid for any future higher education purposes.

UGC secretary Manish Joshi reportedly said, “It has come to the notice of the UGC that a number of institutions are offering degrees in contrary to the provisions of the UGC Act. Degrees awarded by such universities shall neither be recognized nor valid for higher education or employment purpose. These universities are not empowered to confer any degree.”

Among this 20 listed universities most are in Delhi, followed by Uttar Pradesh, Karnataka, Maharashtra, Puducherry, Andhra Pradesh, West Bengal and Kerala

What does FAKE University Means ?

A Fake university are those who were not established under a Central, State/Provincial Act or an institution not deemed to be a university under Section 3 of the UGC Act or not an institution empowered by an Act of Parliament to confer the degree as per University Grants Commission Act, 1956 under Section 22(1). Also, Section 23 of the UGC Act prohibits the use of the word ‘University’ by any unrecognised institution or any fake university.

List of 20 University& State

Among this 20 listed universities 8 are in Delhi, followed by 4 in Uttar Pradesh , 2 each in West Bengal & Andhra Pradesh & 1 each in Puducherry, Maharashtra, Kerala & Karnataka.

  • Delhi
    • All India Institute of Public & Physical Health Sciences
    • Commercial University Ltd., Daryaganj, Delhi
    • United Nations University, Delhi
    • Vocational University, Delhi
    • ADR-Centric Juridical University
    • Indian Institution of Science and Engineering, New Delhi
    • Viswakarma Open University for Self-employment, India
    • Adhyatmik Vishwavidyalaya (Sprirtual University)
  • Uttar Pradesh
    • Gandhi Hindi Vidyapith, Prayagraj, Uttar Pradesh
    • National University of Electro Complex Homeopathy, Kanpur, Uttar Pradesh
    • Netaji Subhash Chandra Bose University (Open University)
    • Bhartiya Shiksha Parishad, Bharat Bhawan, Matiyari Chinhat,
  • Andhra Pradesh
    • Christ New Testament Deemed University
    • Bible Open University of India,
  • West Bengal
    • Indian Institute of Alternative Medicine
    • Institute of Alternative Medicine and Research
  • Puducherry
    • Sree Bodhi Academy of Higher Education, No. 186, Thilaspet,
  • Maharashtra
    • Raja Arabic University, Nagpur
  • Kerala
    • St. John’s University, Kishanattam, Kerala
  • Karnataka
    • Badaganvi Sarkar World Open University Education Society

What will happen to the degree offered by these “FAKE” Universities ?

As these 20 University were not considered under UGC Act , hence degrees offered by any of these university will be invalid.


Leave a Comment